IN FORM: Dale Lovelock's going well.
IN FORM: Dale Lovelock's going well. Smith

‘Mr Consistency’ set for South African surfing sojourn

SURFING: Dale Lovelock has been labelled one of the most consistent Sunshine Coast surfers of the modern era ahead of his upcoming campaign in South Africa.

The 29-year-old won $5000 at the Byron Bay Memorial a week ago and then on Saturday he sealed a $1500 victory in the Dan Thomas Memorial, hosted Kawana Boardriders at Wurtulla.

He defeated the likes of Hiroto Arai, Joe Schwarz and talented teenager Noah Kearney to claim the title for the third time.

“He’s probably the most consistent surfer on the Coast that I’ve seen for a long while now,” contest director Trevor Salisbury said.

“The way he does his heats, he strategises really well and his results reflect that.

“He rarely falls off (but) pulls out some of the biggest moves of the day.”

The 29-year-old has been a force at classic, state and national events for years.

Last season, it was a breakthrough win in the 1000-point Mattara Pro at Newcastle which really caught pundits’ attentions.

That result helped him finish atop the World Surf League Australasian Qualifying Series, which in turn provided him with a wildcard entry into the trials for the prestigious Quiksilver Pro and secured exemption into QS events worldwide.

The Kawana surfer has competed in eight QS events this year and next week will head to South Africa for arguably his biggest assignment, the 10,000-point Ballito Pro, where he could collide with some of the biggest names of the sport.

“He’s been hitting a few (QS events) and he’s given them a good shot but it must be really hard,” Salisbury said.

“He’s made it through a few rounds of those comps but if he’s not making it through (to the latter rounds) I’d like to see how the (other) good guys are.”

Meanwhile, Stacey Holt won the open women’s division in Saturday’s event.

Among other age groups, Tom Prout claimed honours in the under-18 boys section, Holly Williams won the under-16 girls division and Taj Stokes won the under-14 boys competition.