LNP MPs given balance of power on CMC committee

GOVERNMENT MPs now hold the balance of power in the Parliamentary Crime and Misconduct Committee.

Leader of the House Ray Stevens announced on Friday LNP MPs Ian Rickuss, Michael Pucci and Verity Barton would form part of the seven person committee, with the LNP member for Capalaba, Steve Davis, taking the chair.

This is despite a 2010 parliamentary committee review, which recommended legislation be changed to allow the opposition leader to select the chair, so as not to give the government control.

When appointing independent MP Liz Cunningham to the role in May last year, a spokeswoman for Premier Campbell Newman said the "clear intent" of the recommendation was for a non-government chair to be appointed to the PCMC.

No move has been made to change the legislation.

Read more at Brisbanetimes.com.au